Dear Rouge, Snotty Nose Rez Kids & More Announced as 2018 Western Canadian Music Award Winners

Celebrating the best artistic talent in Western Canada, the Western Canadian Music Alliance announced the winners of the Western Canadian Music Artistic Awards. The winners were revealed at the WCMAwards Reception held at Laurel Packing House in Kelowna, BC, at part of the BreakOut West music festival and conference. See below for the full list of Artistic Award recipients.

The Industry Awards will be announced on Saturday, Oct. 13th at the Industry Awards Brunch, hosted at the Delta Grand Okanagan Resort. Honourees include Terry Jacks who will receive the 2018 Heritage Award, and Allan Reid who is to be presented with the 2018 Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award. The Canadian Songwriter’s Hall Of Fame Induction will also take place, honouring Spirit of the West’s iconic song, "Home for a Rest" (written by John Mann and Geoffrey Kelly), and Kelowna-born rock band, The Grapes Of Wrath, will be inducted into the Western Canadian Music Hall Of Fame.

BOW festival showcases started Thursday night with the kickOff concert at the Kelowna Community Theatre, headlined by Kelowna rockers, The Wild!, and featuring showcase acts, Like A Motorcycle and Little Destroyer.

Festival wristbands are still available at Festival-goers can redeem their online purchases of wristbands at the Tourism Kelowna Visitors Centre or at festival venues, one hour before the first act hits the stage.

Information about the festival and conference can be found at and on the BreakOut West 2018 mobile event app. Available at Apple and Google Play, the app is the place to get the most up to date information and connect with other festival-goers throughout the weekend.


Blues Artist of the Year
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – BC

Children’s Artist of the Year
Fred Penner – MB

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra – MB

Classical Composition of the Year
Jocelyn Morlock – BC

Country Artist of the Year
Jess Moskaluke – SK

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year
The Funk Hunters – BC

Francophone Artist of the Year
Alexis Normand – SK

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Celeigh Cardinal – AB

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Apollo Suns – MB

Jazz Artist of the Year
Rubim de Toledo – AB

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year
Striker – AB

Pop Artist of the Year
Dear Rouge – BC

Producer of the Year
Ryan Worsley, Echoplant Sound – BC

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC

Rock Artist of the Year
Scenic Route to Alaska – AB

Roots Duo/Group of the Year
The Dead South – SK

Roots Solo Artist of the Year
Leeroy Stagger – AB

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Dear Rouge, Dear Rouge, Chains – BC

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Stephanie Ratcliff – BC

Urban Artist of the Year

Video Director of the Year
Stefan Berrill, Brass Tacks Films, The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer, "Forever Fool" – BC

Visual Media Composer of the Year
Keri Latimer, "This is Not Paris" – MB

World Artist of the Year
Kelly Bado – MB

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.