Music Canada announces new Board Chair & Advisory Council

During JUNO Awards week in London, ON, Music Canada announced key actions resulting from its comprehensive organizational review. Focusing on board diversity and governance practices, the review was commissioned to provide recommendations on ways Music Canada could demonstrate leadership in inclusion and good governance.

The first action stemming from the review was the addition of two new independent member positions to Music Canada’s Board of Directors, increasing the representation of women on the board to 40 per cent.

At the Chair’s Reception, Music Canada President and CEO Graham Henderson announced the appointment of Jennifer M. Sloan as the new independent chair of the association’s board. As Vice President of Public Policy at Mastercard Canada, Sloan brings expertise in corporate governance, finance and accountability, and government relations.

“I’m pleased to be joining Music Canada at this pivotal time, as the organization heads down a new and exciting path,” says Sloan. “We’re working to ensure a balance of skills, experience, knowledge and perspectives are represented in our governance and activities. The changes announced today will strengthen Music Canada in promoting the interests of our members and their partners, the artists, and to realize our vision for all Canadians to appreciate the power and value of music.”

In her first public remarks as Music Canada’s new board chair, Sloan unveiled another outcome of the association’s organizational review, the new Music Canada Advisory Council.

Reporting directly to Henderson, the Advisory Council is comprised of 15 individuals representing diverse ethno-cultural backgrounds, sexual identities, and geographic regions - reflecting Canada’s vibrant and diverse music community. The council will evaluate Music Canada’s progress against the stated goals and objectives in the association’s strategic plan. The Council will also advise Music Canada on its programs, activities, and research to support the organization in its mandate as an agent of change and thought leader in the music community.

The Music Canada Advisory Council members are:

Heather Bambrick
Steve Bellamy
Josh Colle
Nick Davis
ShoShona Kish
Amanda Martinez
Miranda Mulholland
Errol Nazareth
Alicia Rose
Mike Schroeder
Alka Sharma
Eon Sinclair
Darlene Tonelli
Chris Topping
Charlie Wall-Andrews

“The changes announced today are designed to ensure our leadership is guided by a broad spectrum of voices representing the exquisite mosaic that is our music community,” says Henderson. “I’m excited to welcome Jennifer Sloan and our new Advisory Council members to Music Canada to help us build a more robust music ecosystem. With the support of our members, Sony, Universal, and Warner, we are committed to reflecting the communities in which we live and work, and to fostering an environment in which music businesses can thrive, and artists can prosper.”

For more information, contact Music Canada: 416-967-7272,

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.