MMF Canada Announces 2019 Recipients of the Honour Roll Awards

MMF Canada, an organization of music managers, has announced the recipients of the 2019 Honour Roll Awards. On Tuesday, May 7th, during Canadian Music Week, Sandy Pandya (Pandyamonium Management), Ron Sakamoto (Sakamoto Agency), Arkells, and Entertainment One’s Chris Taylor, Ashley Poitevin, and Sarah Osgoode (Entertainment One Management), will be recognized for their outstanding achievements and contributions to Canada’s music management industry.

Sandy Pandya is this year’s recipient of the Honour Roll Award, which recognizes outstanding achievements and excellence in Canadian and international artist management. Pandya paved her own lane in the Canadian music industry, cementing herself as a leader and advancing the careers of the artists she represents. Her passion for music and inability to accept the word “no” supported her affinity for championing underdogs, which afforded her a career spanning over 20 years and counting.

Previous recipients of the Honour Roll Award include Susan de Cartier (2018), Chris Smith (2017), Lorne Saifer (2016), Rob Lanni & Eric Lawrence (2015), Gilles Paquin (2014), Jake Gold (2013), Larry Wanagas (2012), Terry McBride (2011), Sam Feldman (2010), Ray Danniels (2009), Bruce Allen (2008), and Bernie Finkelstein (2007).

The Brian Chater Pioneer Award, which is given to individuals who have been instrumental in creating the framework for music management in the Canadian entertainment industries, will be presented to Ron Sakamoto – a true entrepreneur with a 50+ year career in the industry. Sakamoto’s career began as a teenager, owning a booking/management agency along with several clubs, which eventually grew into Gold & Gold Productions Ltd., a company he still operates today. He is also a founding partner of Sakamoto Agency.

Previous recipients of the Brian Chater Pioneer Award include Riley O'Connor (2018), Duff Roman (2017) Michael Cohl (2016), Pegi Cecconi (2015), Brian Chater (2014), Neill Dixon & Steve Propas (2013), Donald Tarlton & Terry Flood (2012), Mary Martin (2011) and Leonard Rambeau (2010).

Recognizing the success of an artist and their manager for an exceptional year, the 2019 Banner Year Award will go to Arkells and Entertainment One’s Chris Taylor, Ashley Poitevin and Sarah Osgoode. With managers, Taylor, Poitevin. and Osgoode, Arkells have found a team to embrace the band’s “going for it” mentality. As they strive to find and generate unique opportunities to showcase their talent and their growing ambitions, together they are cultivating Arkells’ ever-expanding audience across all borders.

Previous recipients of the Banner Year Award include Daniel Caesar, Matthew Burnett, Jordan Evans (2017), Joanne Setterington & The Strumbellas (2017), Tony Sal & The Weeknd (2016).

The reception, now in its 13th year, is a flagship event in the industry calendar. Held at Bymark Restaurant in Toronto, the annually sold-out event will bring together the award recipients and their guests, with past honourees, MMF’s Board of Directors, and other industry personnel, including executives from SOCAN, Sony, Warner, Universal Music, FACTOR, CIMA, MROC, Re:Sound, APA Agency, The Feldman Agency, Paquin Artists Agency, and others. Tickets are available now and can be purchased here. Full details for the event can be found below.

13th Annual Honour Roll
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
6:00 p.m. reception / 7:00 p.m. dinner
Bymark (66 Wellington St W, Toronto)
Tickets here

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.