Canadian Radio Music Awards Nominees Announced

[![Magic! at the 2015 Radio Music Awards](/content/images/2018/03/Magic-radio-awards-300x188.jpg)](/content/images/2018/03/Magic-radio-awards.jpg)Magic! at the 2015 Radio Music Awards
Canadian Music Week (CMW) has announced the nominees and performers for the 21st Annual Canadian Radio Music Awards (CRMA) on Wednesday, May 9th, 2018 at the Sheraton Centre Toronto Hotel in the Dominion Ballroom. Jessie Reyez, Dvbbs, and New City lead in nominations.

The Canadian Radio Music Awards will spotlight first-time charting artists on the airwaves. The CRMA nominees include artists who have hit the Canadian charts for the first time and who have achieved top airplay in different formats based on radio “spins,” as recorded by Nielsen Broadcast Data Systems (BDS) in 2017. Votes cast by program directors, music directors, and on-air personalities determine the winners.

This year’s CRMA awards categories include: AC, CHR, Dance/Urban/Rhythmic, Rock, and Country as well as Fans’ Choice. The full list of nominations can be seen below. Radio listeners from across the country can vote online for the Fans’ Choice Award at

Best new group or solo artist: ac

Christian Hudson – “Four Leaf Clover”

Jessie Reyez – “Figures”

Ralph – “Cold to the Touch”

Charlotte Cardin – “Main Girl”

DVBBS – “Not Going Home”

**Best new group or solo artist: CHR

Jessie Reyez – “Figures”

Kayla Diamond – “Carnival Hearts”

New City – “Dirty Secrets”

PartyNextDoor – “Not Nice”

Romes – “Tryna Be”

Best new group or solo artist: Dance/Urban/Rhythmic

Felix Cartal – “Get What You Give”

New City – “Dirty Secrets”

DVBBS – “Not Going Home”

Best new group or solo artist: Rock

Allan Rayman – “13”

Harrison Brome – “Midnight Island”

Leeroy Stagger – “I Want it All”

Sam Coffey & the Iron Lungs – “Talk 2 Her”

The Beaches – “Money”

Best new group or solo artist: Country

Andrew Hyatt – “On Me”

Genevieve Fisher – “Take it on Home”

River town saints – “Bonfire”

Shawn Austin – “Paradise Found”

The Reklaws – “Hometown Kids”

**Fan’s Choice **

Alessia Cara

Coleman Hell

Dallas Smith


James Barker Band

Scott Helman

Shawn Hook

Shawn Mendes

The Weeknd

Virginia to Vegas

Purchase tickets to the Canadian Radio Music Awards (Happy Hour) here.

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.