Amanda Power Named New Executive Director of Unison Benevolent Fund

[![Amanda Power](/content/images/2018/02/Amanda-Power-300x200.jpg)](/content/images/2018/02/Amanda-Power.jpg)Amanda Power
The Board of Directors of Unison Benevolent Fund has announced the appointment of a new executive director, Amanda Power. The Unison Benevolent Fund is a non-profit, registered charity that provides counselling and emergency relief services to the Canadian music community.

Having been with Unison for the past three years as development director, Power is intimately familiar with the organization’s programs and potential. She will now bring her nearly two decades of experience and extensive knowledge of event management, sponsorship, marketing, and industry relations to her new leadership role with Unison.

Power will continue the work of Sheila Hamilton, Unison’s first executive director, who is leaving her leadership role after seven years. Hamilton will remain the principal point of contact for applicants to Unison’s Emergency Assistance Program in her new role as director of allocations and services.

“I’m absolutely elated and honoured to serve as Unison’s next Executive Director. The Canadian music industry has been my life-long passion,” says Power, incoming Executive Director. “I can’t think of a better way to support that industry than to sustain and develop the Unison Benevolent Fund.“

“The board and I are excited to see Unison continue to progress under Amanda’s direction,” adds Derrick Ross, chair of the board. “We also must acknowledge our deep gratitude to Sheila Hamilton for her leadership. Sheila was instrumental in bringing Unison into existence, and for continuing with us as our Director Allocations and Services. Everyone who has reached out to Sheila in their time of crisis will know how deeply compassionate and dedicated she is to the health of each member of our community.”

The Unison Benevolent Fund Board has also confirmed board membership and executive positions for the 2017-2018 fiscal year as listed below.

Derrick Ross, Chair
Andy Maize, Vice Chair
Jennifer Hardy, Secretary-Treasurer
Catharine Saxberg, Co-Founder and Immediate Past Chair
Jodie Ferneyhough, Co-Founder
Philippe Archambault
Erin Benjamin
Bernie Breen
Melissa Bubb-Clarke
Geneviève Côté
Dan Fraser
Jennifer Hardy
Ralph James
Jesse Kumagai
Mark Perry
Dawn Woroniuk

For more information, go to

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.