2020 JUNO Awards Winners to be Announced in Virtual Event on June 29

The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) and broadcast partner CBC today announced that The JUNOS Awards will reveal the 2020 award winners in a virtual presentation on Monday, June 29 at 7 p.m. ET (4 p.m. PT) on the free CBC Gem streaming service, CBC Music’s Facebook, YouTube and Twitter pages, and for audiences around the world at Featuring a lineup of guest presenters and special performances, the awards will be given out across all 42 categories.

In March, due to the escalation of the COVID-19 crisis, this year's JUNO Week & Awards festivities in Saskatoon, SK were cancelled at the last minute.

The livestream awards show will feature performances by Indigenous artist iskwē (*nominee for Adult Alternative Album of the Year and Music Video of the Year), alt-pop duo Neon Dreams (Breakthrough Group of the Year nominee), and bluegrass ensemble The Dead South (Traditional Roots Album of the Year nominee).

Presenters include three-time 2020 JUNO Award nominee and instrumental composer Alexandra Stréliski, Andrew Phung from CBC’s hit comedy Kim’s Convenience, Chris Boucher from the 2019 NBA Championship team the Toronto Raptors, Actor and musician, Finn Wolfhard from Stranger Things, IT and the upcoming Ghostbuster: Afterlife, CBC Kids’ Studio K host Gary the Unicorn, host of The Strombo Show George Stroumboulopoulos, two-time JUNO Award winner and singer-songwriter Jessie Reyez, two-time JUNO Award-winning soprano Measha Brueggergosman, 2020 Adult Contemporary Album of the Year nominee Nuela Charles, Indigenous Music Summit founder and Producer and JUNO Award-winning artist with Digging Roots -  ShoShona Kish, the Minister of Canadian Heritage The Honourable Steven Guilbeault, and CBC Music hosts Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe, Florence K, Julie Nesrallah, Laila Biali, Odario Williams, Rich Terfry, Saroja Coelho, Tom Allen, and CBC q host Tom Power.

“We are thrilled to finally announce the 2020 JUNO winners and recognize all of the incredibly talented artists who’ve been waiting patiently since we had to, unfortunately, cancel JUNO Week in Saskatoon,” says Allan Reid, President & CEO, CARAS/The JUNO Awards & MusiCounts. “Thanks to the amazing support of our broadcast and content partner CBC and our presenting partner TD, along with all of our funders and partners, we’re able to celebrate the best in Canadian music this year through this special virtual JUNOS event.”

Alessia Cara, who was scheduled to host The JUNO Awards Broadcast in Saskatoon, leads this year with a total of six nominations including: JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Songwriter of the Year, and Pop Album of the Year. Tory Lanez received five nominations including JUNO Fan Choice, Artist of the Year, Rap Recording of the Year, and two nominations in the R&B/Soul Recording of the Year category.

Artists with three nominations include Alexandra Stréliski for Album of the Year, Breakthrough Artist of the Year, and Instrumental Album of the Year; Bryan Adams for Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, and Adult Contemporary Album of the Year; bülow for Single of the Year, Songwriter of the Year and Pop Album of the Year; Loud Luxury for JUNO Fan Choice, Group of the Year, and Dance Recording of the Year; NAV for JUNO Fan Choice, Album of the Year, and Rap Recording of the Year; and Shawn Mendes for JUNO Fan Choice, Single of the Year, and Artist of the Year.

The host province of Saskatchewan is well-represented with nominations including first-time nominees Hunter Brothers for Breakthrough Group of the Year and Country Album of the Year; Foxwarren for Alternative Album of the Year; The Dead South for Traditional Roots Album of the Year; and Terri Fidelak and Carey Shaw for Album Artwork of the Year.

Fans are encouraged to continue voting for their favourite nominee for JUNO Fan Choice Presented by TD at Voting will close on Tuesday, June 23 at 5 p.m. ET.

For a complete list and biographies of all nominees and more information on The JUNOS, visit

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.