2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards Winners Revealed Via Livestream

The 2020 Canadian Folk Music Awards were presented during a live stream on Saturday, April 4th via the CFMAs'  Facebook page and website, marking the 15th year of Canada’s premier folk music event. The bilingual broadcast, hosted by Jean Hewson and Benoit Bourque, announced all 20 awards, including the presentation of the Slaight Unsung Hero Award to Nova Scotia’s Donnie Campbell. It was also announced that the 2021 CFMAs will be held in Charlottetown. The Awards were originally scheduled for the weekend of April 3-4 in Charlottetown, however, the CFMAs had to cancel the awards weekend shows and celebrations due to COVID-19.

Multi CFMA recipients this year were Manitoba duo The Small Glories (Cara Luft and JD Edwards) who were recipients of three CFMAs: Contemporary Album of the Year for Assiniboine & The Red;  Vocal Group of the Year and Ensemble of the Year. The full list of 2020 CFMA recipients is below:


  • TRADITIONAL ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Queen City Jubilee by The Slocan Ramblers (ON)
  • CONTEMPORARY ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Assiniboine & The Red by The Small Glories (MB)
  • CHILDREN’S ALBUM OF THE YEAR - Lullabies For Big Eyes by The Kerplunks (BC)
  • TRADITIONAL SINGER OF THE YEAR - Rachel Davis for Ashlar (Còig) (NS)
  • CONTEMPORARY SINGER OF THE YEAR - Matt Andersen for Halfway Home By Morning (NS)
  • INSTRUMENTAL SOLO ARTIST OF THE YEAR - Sabin Jacques for Grandes Rencontres (Sabin Jacques & Rachel Aucoin) (QC)
  • INSTRUMENTAL GROUP OF THE YEAR - Mairi Rankin & Eric Wright for The Cabin Sessions (ON)
  • VOCAL GROUP OF THE YEAR - The Small Glories for Assiniboine & The Red (MB)
  • ENSEMBLE OF THE YEAR - The Small Glories for Assiniboine & The Red (MB)  
  • SOLO ARTIST OF THE YEAR - Irish Mythen for Little Bones (PE)
  • ENGLISH SONGWRITER(S) OF THE YEAR - Abigail Lapell for Getaway (ON)
  • FRENCH SONGWRITER(S) OF THE YEAR - Bernard Adamus for C'qui nous reste du Texas (QC)
  • INDIGENOUS SONGWRITER(S) OF THE YEAR - Diyet van Lieshout for Diyet & the Love Soldiers (YT)
  • WORLD SOLO ARTIST OF THE YEAR - Wesli for Rapadou Kreyol (QC)
  • WORLD GROUP OF THE YEAR - Ayrad for Zoubida (QC)
  • Geneviève Racette for No Water, No Flowers (QC)
  • PRODUCER(S) OF THE YEAR - Daniel Ledwell for Time Travel (Lennie Gallant) (NS)
  • OLIVER SCHROER PUSHING THE BOUNDARIES AWARD- Elisapie for The Ballad of the Runaway Girl (QC)

Provincially, artists from Quebec received the most awards, six in total. The provinces of Ontario, Manitoba, and Nova Scotia each had three artists per province receive awards. The provinces of British Columbia, Nunavut, Prince Edward Island and Yukon had one recipient per province. Recipients by province are listed here -  CFMA 2020 Recipients by Province

Established by Canada’s burgeoning and internationally recognized folk music community, the Canadian Folk Music Awards is currently its 15th year. Next year, the CFMA is looking forward to heading East to Charlottetown, PE for the 2021 celebration!  For more information, visit

WATCH the 2020 CFMA Awards show

HEAR Audio of 2020 CFMA Awards show →

Author image
Michael Raine is the Editor-in-Chief at Canadian Musician and Canadian Music Trade magazines. He also hosts the Canadian Musician Podcast.
You've successfully subscribed to Canadian Musician - Shorttakes
Welcome back! You've successfully signed in.
Success! Your account is fully activated, you now have access to all content.